Durgapur lawyers demand Kanksa-Budbud under Asansol district

Durgapur City Centre - aerial view

Durgapur News Desk, 13 January 2017: Durgapur Bar Association is planning to meet chief minister Mamata Banerjee to seek inclusion of Kanksa and Budbud police stations under the new Asansol district.

Though at present both the police stations fall under Burdwan rural police district after the formation of Asansol Durgapur Police Commissionerate (ADPC) on 1 September 2011, they remain under the jurisdiction of Durgapur Sub Divisional Court till date.

Anupam Mukherjee, secretary of Durgapur Bar Association, informed that though no official notification has been made so far, but they have come to know from state government sources that both Kanksa and Budbud will fall under the territorial jurisdiction of Burdwan court once the new district is formed.

The Durgapur bar association has been on a seven day ‘Cease Work’, although no official declaration has been made yet. They say that the lawyers at Durgapur court have taken this move considering the future scenario.

Mr. Mukherjee added, it take sonly half an hour to travel to Durgapur by bus and one and a half hours to reach Burdwan town by bus from Kanksa and Budbud. Mojammel Haq, kanksa Block Congress leader and also a practicing advocate of Durgapur Sub-Divisional Court, said that several thousands of common people living within the two police station areas will find it more difficult to travel to Burdwan instead of Durgapur to attend court cases due to distances.

Former MP Saidul Haq also feels that Kanksa should be kept within Durgapur court; however he feels Budbud can be taken under Burdwan court. Three Gram Panchayat areas of kanksa fall under the Durgapur East assembly segment and are likely to be added to the Durgapur Municipal Corporation (DMC), sources said. The CM has already announced that from 1 April, Burdwan district, which is the largest district of the state at present with an area of over 7064 sq. km, will be bifurcated and a new district will be carved out, made up of Asansol and Durgapur Sub Divisions.

Federation of South Bengal Chamber of Commerce & Industries and Raniganj Chamber of Commerce has also demanded to set up a new Raniganj sub-division within the Asansol Durgapur District. Asansol, one of the oldest industrial towns of the country, will be the new headquarters of the upcoming Asansol-Durgapur district.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.