Durgapur now part of Burdwan West district – people unhappy

Bengal Chief Minister introducing the new District Magistrate of Burdwan West, Shashank Sethi at a function in Asansol

Durgapur News Desk, 08 April 2017: On a day when the people of Asansol celebrated their elevation to become the district town of the newly formed district of West Burdwan, Durgapur plunged into gloominess. West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee made the official announcement of West Burdwan district yesterday at an open function in Asansol.

West Burdwan (Paschim Burdwan) became the 23rd District of West Bengal and has been carved out of Burdwan district. The remaining part of the erstwhile Burdwan district henceforth will be known as East Burdwan (Purbo Burdwan).

With the division, the agrarian parts of Burdwan (which is often referred to as the bowl of Bengal) now fall under East Burdwan, while the industrial hub will come under West Burdwan, which has two sub-divisions – Asansol Sadar and Durgapur.

Earlier also, Durgapur was a sub-division under the erstwhile Burdwan district. So its prestige remained the same, however the area under the Durgapur sub division has been reduced. Galsi Block 1, which was earlier a part of Durgapur sub division will no longer be a part of it, after the formation of the new district.

Durgapur with a better infrastructure and being a planned city, could have been the district administrative headquarter (or rather the district town) feels many, across party line.

West Burdwan has 16 police stations. While Asansol Sadar comprises of nine police stations — Chittaranjan, Salanpur, Kulti, Hirapur, Asansol South, Asansol North, Barabani, Jamuria and Ranigunj, Durgapur has seven – Andal, Pandabeshwar, Faridpur-Durgapur, Durgapur, New Township, Coke Oven and Kanksa.

Shashank Sethi was appointed as the district magistrate, of the newly formed Burdwan West district.

Ever since the talk and administrative procedures was initiated for splitting up of the district of Burdwan, citizen forum of Durgapur became proactive in projecting Durgapur as the district town, surpassing Asansol, but the efforts dried out once Mamata Banerjee’s party Trinamool Congress lost both the assembly seats of Durgapur.

Supporters and leaders of TMC have flooded the town of Durgapur thanking the Chief Minister for forming the new district, but there has hardly been any response from the citizens of Durgapur, who strongly feel that they are being deprived.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.