Durgapur police lodge compliant against 2006 CPI(M) men

CPI(M) leader Pankaj Roy Sarkar talking with Burdwan DM during the rally

Durgapur News Desk, 31 January 2017: The Asansol Durgapur police has arrested five CPI(M) workers on charges of heckling the district magistrate of Burdwa, Dr. Saumitra Mohan during the party’s agitation program on 28 January at Palasdiha Ground beside NH-2 opposite City Centre, the administrative headquarter of Durgapur sub division.

One might remember that on 28 January (Saturday) Durgapur’s City Centre virtually turned into a red citadel as thousands of CPI(M) supporters hit the street at a rally in Palasdiha Ground to protest against the anti-people, anti-worker and anti-farmer policies of both Central and State governments.

The huge rally, which started from the Nazrul statue in City Center had to cross the NH-2 to reach the Palasdiha Ground on the opposite side. On a temporary stage the rally was addressed by CPI(M) Central Committee member Comrade Madan Ghosh, District Left Front convener and party state committee member Comrade Amal Halder, Party District secretary Comrade Achintya Mallik, Comrade Anju Kar, Comrade Gouranga Chatterjee, Comrade Abdur Rezzak Mondal and CPI(M) MLA of Durgapur East Comrade Santosh Deb Ray.

The huge turnout made traffic on the NH-2 coming to a standstill. The Burdwan district magistrate Dr. Saumitra Mohan, got detained in the traffic while he was returning to Burdwan after attending an official programme at Asansol.

Though there was allegation that the Burdwan DM was abused by CPI(M) supporters, but Mr. Santosh Deb Roy, MLA of Durgapur (East) assembly constituency rebuffed all the allegations and said that his party supporters have been falsely framed by the police.

The Asansol Durgapur police had then lodged a case against the CPI(M) leaders and supporters. IC of the City Centre police station lodged complaint against as many as 2006 CPI(M) supporters including Pankaj Roy Sarkar, Subir Sengupta, kabi Ghosh, Mahabrata Kundu and Gouranga Chattopadhyay. The five CPI(M) supporters, Barun Dey, Joy Barui, Tapan Gope, Srikanta Roy and Sajan Barua were later arrested. On Monday, after they were produced in the Durgapur Sub Divisional court, the magistrate sent them to 14 days jail custody.

Mr. Deb Roy, further alleged, “The ruling party, in fear of the opposition parties in Durgapur belt, has been trying to break the opposition’s morale with false and fabricated cases, before the upcoming Durgapur Municipality Corporation election.”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.