Inaction finger at Durgapur police

CPM in Durgapur has accused police of not taking action against three Trinamool leaders the party had named in a complaint of an attack on three of its candidates for the forthcoming panchayat election. Allegation of police inaction surfaced after the matter has been reported to the state election commission.

Pankaj Roy Sarkar speaking at a panchayat election rally in Durgapur

The CPM’s allegation against Trinamool comes close on the heels of similar complaints of intimidation of opposition party candidates by the ruling party across the state.

The officer in charge of the New Township police station has said in a report to the Asansol-Durgapur commissioner that no action could be taken as the complaint did mention the names of the accused.

“Regarding incident in Kaliganj village, enquiry was made but due to want of any specific names no action as per law could be taken,” says the police report.

Local CPM leaders said they had specifically named Trinamool leaders Sadhan Ghosh, Bhola Bauri and Gonsai Kharat in a complaint to the sub-divisional officer of Durgapur. A copy of the complaint was also sent to the New Township police station.

“It is surprising how the officer in-charge could not find any name and submitted a report to his superiors saying no action as per law could be taken. This proves our repeated allegation that that a section of policemen are working at the behest of Trinamool,” said Pankaj Roy Sarkar, the secretary of CPM local committee in Jemua-Bidhannagar who lodged the complaint.

Reading out the complaint, Roy Sarkar said, “On the night of May 31, Trinamool leader Swadhin Ghosh, Bhola Bouri and Gonsai Kharat led 60-70 drunken party activists to the houses of CPM nominess Dharmapada Ghosh, Manju Sutradhar and Monibhushan Sutradhar at Kaliganj and threatened them and their family members. The leaders said that the three candidates would be killed if they did not withdraw their nominations.”

Dinesh Mandal, the officer in-charge of New Township police station who was also sent a copy of the complaint, submitted a report to the additional deputy commissioner of police (east) Sunil Yadav earlier last month, which Yadav forwarded to the Asansol-Durgapur commissioner of police.

The officer in-charge’s report was prepared after Kasturi Sengupta, the SDO of Durgapur sought details of the investigation on the CPM’s complaint. The SDO had said the report was needed to be sent to the state election commission.

Pankaj Roy Sarkar also alleged that he and some CPM cadres has gone to New Township police station to a lodge the complaint but the police refused to accept an FIR saying no such threats were issued to the CPM nominees.

The complaint was lodged with Durgapur SDO Kasturi Sengupta, who is in charge of conducting the panchayat election in the Durgapur sub-division. Apart from local police station, copies were sent to the state election commission, election observer and Burdwan district magistrate.

Officer in-charge Mandal said “no comments’ when asked why no action was taken against the three Trinamool leaders named in the complaint.

The CPM’s Burdwan district secretary, Amal Halder said: “The police are planting names of our party leaders in the FIRs lodged by Trinamool but are deleting names of the ruling party leaders when we lodge any FIR.”

Trinamool panchayat samiti candidate Ghosh, who was named by the CPM for the May 31 attack, praised the police’s effort in tackling the case.

“The CPM tried to fabricate the charges against me and my two party colleagues. But the police foiled their attempt. The police are doing a good job with the case,” he said.

Complaints by CPM that their nominees for the forthcoming panchayat polls had to flee their homes because of continuous threats from Trinamool goons are also in the air and have been brought under the notice of state election commission as well.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

1 Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Durgapur ACP assured CPM panchayat candidates

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.