News updates on Durgapur Lok Sabha election 2014

The industrial town of Durgapur will go into poll on 30 April 2014 to choose its representative for the 16th Lok Sabha. Named Burdwan-Durgapur and numbered 39 in the official notification of the National Election Commission (NEC), it is one of the 42 Lok Sabha constituencies of West Bengal which was formed after the 2008 delimitation of parliamentary constituencies.

The Indian general election to constitute the 16th Lok Sabha will be held from 7 April to 12 May 2014 in nine phases. This will be the longest election in the country’s history. Voting will be held from 7 April 2014 to 12 May 2014 in all 543 parliamentary constituencies of India to elect Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha. Counting will take place on 16 May 2014. For more news on Indian General Election 2014 click HERE.

The seven assembly constituencies which form the Burdwan-Durgapur Lok Sabha seat are: Bardhaman South (Constituency Number – 260), Monteswar (Constituency Number – 263), Bardhaman North (Constituency Number – 266), Bhatar (Constituency Number – 267), Galsi (Constituency Number – 274), Durgapur East (Constituency Number – 276) and Durgapur West (Constituency Number – 277).

The forthcoming Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal will be held in five-phases between 17 April 2014 and 12 May 2014 along with the bye-elections in six Assembly seats. The five polling dates on which West Bengal electorates will cast their voting rights are 17 April 17, 24 April, 30 April, 7 May and 12 May, while counting would be held on 16 May 2014 along with the entire country.

Prof. Sk. Saidul Haque – Burdwan-Durgapur sitting MP and CPI (M) candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha poll

Significantly, bye-election of Galsi – one of the assembly seats under Burdwan-Durgapur Lok Sabha constituency will be on the same date, i.e. 30 April 2014.

Issue of notification for the Burdwan-Durgapur Lok sabha seat will be on 2 April 2014. Last date of filing nomination will be on 9 April 2014. Scrutiny of nominations will be on 9 April 2014. Last date for withdrawal of
candidature will be 12 April 2014.

Along with Burdwan-Durgapur, the eight other Lok Sabha seats on which voting will take place on 30 April 2014 are Howrah, Uluberia, Sreerampur, Hooghly, Arambagh, Burdwan (East) and Birbhum.

The current sitting member of parliament of the Bardhaman Durgapur constituency is Prof. Sk. Saidul Haque of CPI (M).

Both Left Front and Trinamool Congress (TMC) have already announced their candidates for the Burdwan-Durgapur Lok sabha seat. Prof. Sk. Saidul Haque of CPI (M) has been re-nominated by the Left Front as its candidate for the seat.

Dr. Mumtaz Sanghamitra Chowdhury – TMC candidate of Burdwan-Durgapur Lok Sabha seat in 2014

TMC nominated renowned Gynecologist Dr. Mumtaz Sanghamitra Chowdhury to contest in Burdwan-Durgapur against CPI (M) candidate Prof. Sk. Saidul Haque. She was long time Head of the department of Gynecology of Medical College, Kolkata. Dr Mumtaz is the daughter of Syed Mansur Habibullah, former Speaker of the state Assembly and a law minister in Jyoti Basu’s Cabinet. She is also wife of state Minister Justice (Retd.) Nure Alam Chowdhury.

Dr. Mumtaz Sanghamitra Chowdhury created ripple when she filed a legal suit on 20 December 2007 against the veteran CPI-M district secretariat members alleging that the party had grabbed 29 cottahs of her ancestral property on Parkas Road in the Burdwan town to help erecting its district headquarters without informing her. Decision on the matter is still pending.

Sk. Saidul Haque, CPI-M’s sitting MP for Burdwaan-Durgapur seat is a former professor of a state sponsored college under Burdwan University. Born in Jagulipara, Burdwan he completed his education from Burdwan Raj College. Haque has B.Ed. M.A. & D.Litt degrees. His book “Moulabad and Muslim Janamanas” (Fundamentalism and Muslim Mentality) was an instant hit and earned him many accolades.

The TMC’s candidature for all three seats in Burdwan (Burdwan-East, Burdwan-Durgapur and Asansol) district, meanwhile, has triggered off a debate as in none of the seats; the leaders from the district were offered entry. Al the three candidates of TMC in Burdwan district does not hails from the district.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.